The Consortium for Southeast Asian Studies in Asia (SEASIA, pronounced “see-Asia”) was established in October 11, 2013 by leading area-studies institutions in Northeast and Southeast Asia.   ​

The consortium Charter was signed by the Center for Asia-Pacific Studies, Academia Sinica; the Institute of Asian Studies, Chulalongkorn University; the Indonesian Institute of Sciences; the Korean Association of Southeast Asian Studies; the Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University; the Asia Research Institute, National University of Singapore; the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University; the Taiwan Association of Southeast Asian Studies; the Institute of Asian Studies, Universiti Brunei Darussalam; the Asian Center, University of the Philippines.  

In 2017, the SEASIA Governing Board appointed four institutions as Consortium members, namely: ISEAS-Yusof Ishak Institute (Singapore), the Center for Southeast Asia Research at the City University Hong Kong, the Center for Southeast Asian Studies at the National Chengchi University (Taiwan) and the School of International Studies, Jinan University (People’s Republic of China).  

In 2021, Jeonbuk National University Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (South Korea) and the American University of Phnom Penh-Center for Southeast Asian Studies (Cambodia) joined the Consortium. The College of Interdisciplinary Studies of Thammasat University (Thailand) and the Department of Southeast Asian Studies of the University of Malaya (Malaysia) became members in 2024.

The Consortium Charter was signed by representatives of ten leading area-studies institutions in Asia on October 11, 2013.